NaveenBy Bizodisha Bureau, Bhubaneswar, September 9, 2016 : In a bid to generate a feeling of cultural amity among performing arts fraternity and acknowledging the excellence and contribution of great artists in the field of dance, music, theatre and cinema, Guru Kelu Charan Mohapatra Award Festival in its 22nd year chose eminent Odia cine actress Jharana Das and renowned Odishi dance guru Kishore Kumar Mohanty with the prestigious Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2016 for lifetime achievement.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday gave away the annual awards in a glittering ceremony here.

Srjan (Guru Kelu Charan Mohapatra Odissi Nrutyabasa) founded in 1993 by Guru Kelu Charan Mohapatra has pioneered the cause of recognizing the talents and achievements of individual artists in different art forms. The Award was instituted by Srjan in 1995.

The award, given in memory of the revered Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra, carries a cash prize of Rs one lakh and a citation.

Guru Kelucharan Mohaptra Yuva Prativa Samman 2016 for exceptional diligence and accomplishment was presented to Rajib Bhattacharya (Odissi-Dance), Madhusmita Mohanty (Odissi-Dance), P Praveen Kumar (Bharatnatyam-Dance) and Rupak Kumar Parida (Odissi-Vocal).

Guru Kelucharan Mohaptra Nrutya Kala Samman 2016 for exemplary commitment to the practice and performance of Odissi Dance was given to Madhubrata Satapathy.

The artistes of Srjan presented a dance drama ‘Tyaga’. It was the story of Anusuya, her leper husband Bishnu Das and Lakhyaheera. Choreography of the presentation was by Guru Ratikanta Mohapatra and music was composed by Lakshmikant Palit.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of