Bizodisha Bureau, Bhubaneshwar, March 18, 2020: All the four nominees of ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday\ were elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Odisha, according to the Returning Officer Dasarathi Satapathy on the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

The four BJD nominees are the chairperson of the Odisha Construction Workers Welfare Board Subash Singh; the former advisor of Special Development Council in the rank of chief secretary, Sujeet Kumar; former president minority cell Mujibullah Khan aka Munna Khan; and a member of the BJD women wing in Mayurbhanj district, Mamata Mahanta.

Notably, the Rajya Sabha polls are scheduled to be held on March 26. The last date for withdrawal of candidatures was Wednesday.

All the four candidates won unopposed as the opposition BJP and Congress did not field any nominee for the biennial polls in Odisha.

Four independent candidates, who had filed nominations, lacked 10 proposers as required to make their nominations valid.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of