By Bizodisha Bureau, Bhubaneswar, June 11, 2019: The power consumers of Odisha has something to rejoice about with the state power regulator, Odisha Electricity Regulatory Commission (OERC) deciding to keep the tariffs unchanged for 2019-20 for second year on a trot.

The tariff order will be effective from June 1, 2019. “In view of the Code of Conduct imposed during General Election – 2019, the commission was allowed to notify this tariff order only after the last date of polling in the state”, said OERC in a statement.

Like in the previous fiscal, consumers will have to pay tariff at Rs 2.50 per unit for the first 50 units, Rs 4.30 per unit above 50 units and up to 200 units, Rs 5.30 per unit above 200 and up to 400 units. The tariff has been fixed at Rs 5.70 per unit above 400 units per month.

The commission has enhanced the rebate for digital payment to two per cent from one per cent since last year in a bid to encourage consumers to adopt the digital mode of payment of electricity dues.

The commission stated that there had been an average decrease of approximately two per cent in bulk supply tariff for all Distribution companies (Discoms) and the transmission tariff for FY 2019-20 had remained unchanged.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of